Writers Speak a Secret Language

That’s what my mom said as we left the When the Heart Dreams romance reader/writer mixer event this past weekend. And I say, yes we do!

destin

Me chillaxing at the beach retreat.

 

I’m coming off of an inspirational high after two weekends of writerly heaven. First, was the Destin Divas Retreat (that’s what we nicknamed the weekend). A weekend where 26 women, romance authors of color got together in Destin, FL to learn plotting techniques from the awesome Farrah Rochon. The weekend helped me to not only get better at plotting, but introduced me to some great new author friends.

Last week I participated in the When the Heart Dreams reader/writer mixer. I had a great time meeting new readers and getting to know the fabulous Beverly Jenkins better. She is hilarious and had all of us awestruck “newbie” writers laughing. The weekend was filled with Q&A sessions from NY Times Best Selling authors, Jacquelyn Frank and Madeline Hunter, fantastic food, wine, romance themed games, and a Moulin Rouge party at the end of the weekend. I danced way too much at that party, but hopefully my knees will forgive me.

My parents dropped in on the mixer, and after listening to me and my writerly friends talk she made the “secret language” comment. (I think the conversation on the RITAS sealed the deal). She thinks our entire network of authors and the way we support each other is cool. I must agree with her. These past two weekends have shown me how important it is to connect with authors and readers. To share my love of writing and reading romance with people who feel the same. I feel inspired, and tired, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

What’s been the best reader or writer event you’ve attended?

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

4 Responses to Writers Speak a Secret Language

  1. lynncahoon says:

    My first reader/author event (outside of the RWA literary signing) was the Barbara Vey weekend. OMG, what a jam packed weekend of fun with people who get it. I think readers and authors have a secret language. 🙂 I’m going back in a couple of months as an author to Barbara’s get together.

    Love that you had two weekends of the magic. 🙂

  2. I saw your interview last night, it was thrilling to learn of your experiences as a “newbie”. I have all of your E-books and have certainly enjoyed looking through your eyes with each character. Note:I live in Columbia…

Leave a Reply

