I’m a Love Scene Prude!

Okay, maybe the title of this blog is a little over dramatic. I do write some steamy love scenes, but about a week or so ago I realized I’m a prude when it comes to certain words.

I’m working on the third book in the Henderson Family Series, Making it Real. This story centers around Kareem Henderson, the oldest son and family bad boy. Kareem has intimacy issues that he learns to overcome in this story. Well, there I was, sitting in the library on my lunch break, revising and massaging a love scene between Kareem and the woman who ultimately helps him fall in love. Things were going great, they were all in it and going for the goal, and then when I got to a certain part I froze.

My hands hovered over the keyboard, and I glanced around the room as if every librarian in there was waiting to peer over my shoulder.

Why did I freeze? Because my hero is the type of guy who’ll use the P word during a love scene (starts with P ends in Y). Shouldn’t be a problem, huh? Well, I’m the type of woman who doesn’t use that word. Even now I can’t type it, much less say it. And right then the realization struck.

I’m a love scene prude, y’all!

I love using the D word. Mainly because most guys I know use that word. I haven’t met a single guy who refers to his member as a Gamecock (lose the game). I like to be detailed in my descriptions when my characters finally make love. But that word, I had to force onto the page.

Getting over that is necessary. I have to go with what the character would really think, feel, say and do. And if I wasn’t true to my character then why write in the first place. Maybe with time I’ll be more comfortable using that. Honestly, I’m not a big fan of the alternatives: core, womanhood, center … honeypot? But I put them in my love scenes opposite a big ole D any day of the week. Now that I’ve admitted to being a prude, maybe I can overcome my hesitancy. I wont be throwing pussycats in every love scene I write (drop the cat), but I will let the word fly when it fits the scene.

How do you feel about the P word? Or, let’s have some fun, tell me what words make you chuckle or cringe when you’re reading/writing a romance?

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

9 Responses to I’m a Love Scene Prude!

  1. Candace Shaw says:

    I thought I was the only one!! I’ve never used the D or P word in any of my books. I’ve tried, blush and then delete. My last book I finally used the F word (the heroine said it first). I deleted it and then cringed as I put it back in because it fit the scene. I may use the D word one day but I still don’t see myself using the P word. Maybe if I wrote a book under another pen name and told no one it was me!

  2. stephaniebartley1 says:

    Hi Ms. Synithia,

    How’s it going? Well, when it comes to romance, there are not many words that make me cringe. If it flows with the character of the person or with the story, I’m good with that. My problem comes when there is a repetitive use of the word or words. Otherwise, I say go for it, sometimes it makes the novel that more juicier.

    • Synithia W says:

      I don’t tend to cringe either if it fits the character and scene. Ultimately that’s why I went ahead and wrote the word. I found it funny that I felt so self conscious that day in the library 🙂

  3. Lola Karns says:

    Had to laugh. I subbed a short story recently with a hero who loved the P word. Made me a bit uncomfortable, but you have to be true to the characters.

  4. Ashley says:

    After reading this, I realize that I too am a bit of a prude as a reader! For me it depends on the context. If a guy is talking to his boys about sex, in the story then it fits. If the guy uses the words in his thoughts and doesn’t say it cool. If the guy says it and I believe the love/connection between the characters is genuine, then I can go with it. I don’t mind it if it fits the scene and isn’t used excessively. After reading about Kareem in the other books, yes, I totally see that coming from him. He was in prison and he’s got some bitterness to work through. I trust your judgement because I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve read by you! Any ideas when Making It Real will be published? Can’t wait 🙂

    • Synithia W says:

      You’re right about Kareem, the word fit him and the scene. And you won’t have a long wait. His book is scheduled for this summer. I’m working on the edits now 😊

Leave a Reply

