Love’s Replay Release Day (and a Giveaway)!!

It’s here, release day for my 5th book titled Love’s Replay! I still can’t believe I can actually say that. The possibility of reconciliation after a partner cheats was the inspiration for this book. Some people can’t imagine going back, but others can heal and find a way to start again. In the case of David Henderson and Sandra Brevard (the hero and heroine in Love’s Replay) they were young and in love when David let his ego and peer pressure put him in a situation that broke his relationship with Sandra. Now, ten years later, they’ve both grown and matured, but the hurts from before are hard to overcome.

I hope you enjoy David and Sandra’s love story as much as you have my other characters. If you haven’t read any of my other books and you give Love’s Replay a try, I hope you like my realistic approach to relationships and the drama that comes with them. In my last preview I showed you how shocked Sandra was by seeing David again, this time I want you to see how the unexpected reunion got to David. After that read on for my 5th book release day giveaway!

***

love's replayMovement behind Janiyah caught David’s attention. Kareem came up and placed a hand on her shoulder.

“Kareem, you came,” Janiyah said. She reached up to hug him, and Kareem indulged her for a quick second before pulling away.

“You did beg,” Kareem said.

“It’s David’s birthday, we had to celebrate,” Janiyah said.

“Of course we did.” Kareem turned to the people behind him. “Say hello to Sandra.” He placed his hand on the lower back of one of the women in the group. “Sandra, this is my sister, Janiyah, and one of my younger brothers, David.”

David took a sip from his beer before meeting the woman his brother was anxious for him to check out. When their eyes met his heart constricted, while the beer went down his windpipe with an icy burn. Fierce coughs were his only response to the shock of making contact with the hazel eyes that haunted him every year on his birthday.

He spun back to the bar and set the drinks on the surface. Rough coughs racked his body, and he pressed a hand to his chest to stop it. Hands hit his back. Voices asked if he was okay. But it was all background noise, drowned out by memories of her voice whispering his name in the dark, a secret smile directed his way, her soft body warm and welcoming beneath his.

It couldn’t be her.

When the burn subsided, he took a deep breath and reassured his sister he was okay. He mentally braced himself before turning around. His heart beat harder than the bass of the music. He faced the group. It was her. Ten years had passed, and damned if she wasn’t better with age. Cinnamon-colored skin; he used to call her his cinnamon bun. Damn, he was corny back then. He quickly let his eyes flick over her green dress. It stopped above the knee, and a black belt cinched her waist, accenting the flare of her hips. Black heels gave added height to her five feet nine inch frame. He remembered her exact height, the only woman that fit against him perfectly. Her hair was shorter now, in an asymmetrical cut, short on one side and long on the other. Nostalgia sent a drum roll of desire through his body.

She didn’t appear surprised to see him. Her full lips curved into a smile that didn’t quite reach her eyes. She wasn’t happy to see him.

“Oh, wow, David Henderson.” Her voice was low, husky. A reminder of nights spent in a twin bed in her dorm room while she moaned his name. “It’s good to see you.” A lie if he ever heard one. Her eyes were frigid.

Seeing her released a floodgate of memories. Memories he’d long suppressed and said no longer mattered. For a split second he considered reaching out to hug or touch her, pull her against him to confirm she was really there. Kareem shifted at her side. That’s right, she was here for Kareem.

“Sandra Brevard. I haven’t seen you since … ”

“College. You’re Kareem’s brother. Now I know why he looked so familiar.” She turned to Kareem and smiled. “You’ve got the same eyes.”

His stomach clenched. His eyes, what she used to call her favorite feature. Now she saw them in his brother. A raw and violent jealousy surged inside him at the thought of another man with her. That too wasn’t new, but he’d lost the ability to act on it years ago.

Kareem put his hand on the small of her back. “I’m taking it you know each other?”

His brother’s movement was a clear message. Back off.

“Yeah, he and I were in some of the same circles … what … junior year?” she said with a deceptively questioning tone.

She damn well knew what year it was. They’d been in the same circles? That’s how she wanted to define it? It was far more than that.

###

And now for the giveaway!! Since this is my 5th book coming out on the 15th day of December, I’ve decided to give five luck blog commenters a chance to win a $5 Amazon gift card! Just tell me why you like second chance love stories and/or if you think people can heal after infidelity. The contest will remain open for 5 days ending at midnight on Friday December 19th. At the end of the contest I’ll randomly select five people who commented. Good luck, and thanks for all the support over the past two years!

You can buy Love’s Replay on: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Kobo, and from Crimson Romance at 30% off everyday!

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

21 Responses to Love’s Replay Release Day (and a Giveaway)!!

  1. Cheryl Rogers says:

    I have seen folks heal after infidelity! I think that there really is a chance for love. Forgiveness is a great virtue ( though hopefully not abused by the offender). I think it is a long process sometimes but second chances are a real possiblity. Cherylslife67(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. Melinda says:

    I was always told if a love is hard set it free and if it return its your one true love. Sometime people let there friends, ego or stubbornness keep them from their one a true love. Let you pride aside and get your love.

  3. Forgiveness takes time. My real reason for posting is to say your cover model is hawt! It’s like he’s looking into my soul and making me think things I shouldn’t.

  4. Sherika Williams says:

    I must admit when I was younger and dating I did not believe in second chances. In my mind if you messed up with me once that was it. Now that I’m a lot older, wiser and married I do believe everyone is in title to a second chance as long as there is NO TYPE of physical or mental abuse. Everyone deserve a second shot to prove there love…

  5. Denise Stokes says:

    I love second chance stories! To error is to be human. Especially if the cheating happened when you were younger you are still feeling yourself so it can be understandable. Not saying it won’t hurt. Love seeing growth in characters.

  6. stephaniebartley1 says:

    Hi Ms. Synithia,

    Nice excerpt. I truly believe in Second chance romances. I think that everyone deserves a second chance at romance. I love second chance romances because they show that after something tragic, you can still find love. I do think you can heal from infidelity, it is just going to take time. You have to give yourself time to get over it so it won’t cloud your relationship( if you decide to stay in that one) or the next one you enter into.

  7. Kay Edmondson says:

    I believe in Second chance romances. Sometimes situations and outside people can help mess up a romance. You may want to forgive your mate for infidelity and other issues. We allow others to persuade us to leave the relationship. We later realize that the relationship could have been saved with time and clear thinking.

  8. Portia says:

    I love second chance romance because people are able to right a wrong. I feel that forgiveness is everything. Once you forgive and let go it allows you to renew yourself and maybe a relationship too.

  9. Evelyn McKinnon says:

    I like second chance love stories because they show two people who have grown enough as individuals where they can now successfully communicate with each other about why they loved each other in the first place, what caused the infidelity or lack of trust and how not to repeat those same actions.

    So yes, I think people can heal after infidelity as long as they have a mindset that people can change, if they’re willing. And that not all people react the same way to certain situations.

  10. Tina says:

    Intriguing…

  11. Keya Powell says:

    Forgiveness is good for the soul. If you hold on to all the negative garbage, it often make it hard to move on. I think people can heal from infidelity. However I think it also depend on how bad the infidelity was. If it was a one time thing, then maybe it is easier. But if it was the type of situation where the person constantly cheated then it is a different situation.

  12. Synithia W says:

    And the random numbers chosen by my hubby and two boys are: 5, 8, 4, 2 and 6. Congratulations, Melinda, Sherika, Denise, Stephanie and Evelyn!

  13. stephaniebartley1 says:

    Hi Ms. Synitha,

    Thank you are your family. I am truly honored. I pray that you and your family have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. May God continue to bless you. Again, thank you.

Leave a Reply

