There May Be Something to Those Teenage Dreams

When I was 15, I had to write a letter to my English teacher telling her about myself. I didn’t remember doing this until I came across the letter last night. See, I’m a pack rat. I keep EVERYTHING. Even small school assignments that only give a teacher the FYI of the new students.

Well, last night I decided to do a organizational sweep of my box of old stuff to see what I could throw out or recycle without too much emotional withdrawal. Which brings me back to my letter to Ms. Cottingham. It’s sitting on the pile of stuff to recycle, when I get a hankering to read over it. It’s cute, sweet, no big deal … until I get to the end (pictured below).

School Letter

For those who may not be able to read it, here’s what it says:

“If I can’t be an actress I want to be a marine biologist or meteorologist, because science is my 2nd true love. My first is romance. Unlike most kids my age I believe in (and wish for) happily ever after. I read all the time but they’re not classics or nonfiction but romance novels. I even write them too. At the moment I’m working on my second book, and to me, I’m a great author. Well that’s about all I can say about me. I hope you enjoyed my letter.”

When I got to the end I teared up. And, folks, I’m not a teared up kind of gal. In fact, I’m terrible at the mushy sentimental stuff in real life. But this … this got to me. It’s not like I’d forgotten that I’ve wanted to be a writer since before I was a teenager, or that I didn’t know the box I was cleaning out had a bunch of old novels I started way back when. But, I had forgotten that once I was so proud of my love of reading and writing romance, that I happily declared it my first love.

I really needed to see that letter. Even with my 4th book coming later this year, insecurity about my choice to pursue my love of writing romance pops up. This simple letter to my English teacher reminded me that I am doing what some people only hope to do. I’m actually going after my dream. A dream I’ve had for as long as I can remember.

The letter … well it’s back in that box. It’ll be my reminder when I’m thinking my writing sucks, or that I’ve run out of ideas, or that I’m too tired to attend one more workshop to keep at it. Because, really, who can deny their first love.

P.S.

I  still want to be an actress 🙂

 

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

2 Responses to There May Be Something to Those Teenage Dreams

  1. Travis S. Sims says:

    You’re such an awesome person! I’m so very proud to have called you friend for all of these years. Remember our last coffee together? Remember what I said about your writing? Follow your dreams my sister, I am behind you 1000%!!! Although, I know you well enough to say that you will achieve every goal you set for yourself. Much success and my love to you friend. Keep up the awesome work and hope to see you soon.

    • Synithia W says:

      Thanks so much, Travis! It’s surreal to know that something I wrote at 15 I’m still pursuing. And many of my friends who supported me then still support me now 🙂

Leave a Reply

