An Abolitionist Falls in Love With a Southern Gentleman

What happens when an abolitionist falls for a southern gentlemen? You get a pretty hot and tumultuous romance! Today fellow Crimson Romance author, Becky Lower, is here to talk about her latest historical romance. She also might help you with ideas for barn loft designs 🙂 Enjoy!

Me: Tell me a little about yourself.

48988_1025007027_4423_nBecky Lower: I am the second of five children, and the dedication in my second book in the Cotillion series is to my siblings. Since my books are about a large family in New York, the dynamics of family life come into play, especially in the second book. Without my sibs, I could never have conceived of the series. We grew up in Ohio, between Akron and Canton. My dad liked to build houses, so every day when I came home from school, I’d change clothes and head to the job site, where we’d work until supper. It wasn’t until I was an adult that I realized how valuable that early training was. I may not be able to physically do the work, but I can tell you how something should be done! I used to work for the eHow website, and answered a question about how to build a loft in a barn. The editor told me I must have spent a lot of time on a farm, since my answer was so good. I can only thank my dad.

Me: How cool, Becky! I can watch someone build a loft and that’s about it, lol. Describe your publishing journey.

BL: I had some early success with my writing—and I mean early! When I was 10 or 12, I won a contest sponsored by the Akron Beacon Journal. They supplied the last line of the story and you had to write the rest. And, I submitted a screenplay to my favorite television show, Bonanza, somewhere around the same time. Not so surprisingly, I didn’t get asked to join the creative team at Bonanza, but they were very nice in their rejection. For a lot of years, I ignored creative writing, since I wrote ad copy for my work. Instead I entertained my friends with stories about my family. After the umpteenth person said “You should write a book,” I decided to take them up on it. The Reluctant Debutante is my first book, and the second book in the series, The Abolitionist’s Secret, was released December 3.

Me: I bet you do have a lot of stories growing up with four brothers/sisters. Tell me about your book?

9781440555916BL: The Abolitionist’s Secret is about Heather Fitzpatrick, an identical twin. The twins are scheduled to make their debut into society and go through the season together, which shy Heather appreciates. However, on the night of their Cotillion, Jasmine falls and breaks her ankle, leaving bashful Heather to fend for herself. Lieutenant David Whitman, in town specifically for the ball, is more than happy to step in and help Heather weave her way through society. But David is from the South and Heather is an abolitionist. You just know things aren’t going to go well.

Me: Oooh, good conflict! I feel the tension already. Who or what inspires you as a writer?

BL: There are a host of great authors who I draw inspiration from. They range from Stephen King to Nora Roberts. I love watching the way they use words to build worlds and to either scare the crap out of you, or make you cry. In addition to authors, events and causes inspire me. Someone told me my books are less like historic romances and more like historical fiction, since I tend to tackle difficult subjects. However, I ground my historicals in the events that were taking place at the time. The decade I write about is the 1850s, during the build-up to the Civil War. Racism, be it against American Indians or African-Americans, has been around for a long time. Women’s rights is an ongoing battle, although rapid strides have been made in the past thirty years. The next book in the series addresses the issue of being a conscientious objector during the upcoming Civil War. The issues I’m making my characters face in my books were real then and are the same issues we still face today.

Me: I’m a big fan of realistic romances. I like that you tackle the difficult situations, but also can make it interesting and romantic. When do you make time for writing?

BL: I like to write in the morning. I feel my freshest then, and my fingers hit the right key most of the time. Afternoons are spent on the overwhelming social media that comes along with being a writer. I keep saying it’s better than a 30-city book tour, but some days, I’m not so sure. My job that keeps groceries in the house is extremely flexible, and I set my own schedule most of the time, so that works well. If I’m on a roll with my writing, I don’t have to stop in the middle of a scene to go punch a timeclock.

Me: At least with a 30 city book tour you can pretend it vacation 🙂 So tell me, why do you write romance?

BL: I’ve never been married, so some think it odd that I would choose to write romance. But there’s no better feeling in the world than the rush of emotions that course through your body when you find a partner—be it for a night or a lifetime. That’s what makes me want to write romance—to capture that feeling time and again, to have my characters fight against it because it’s not always the right or most sensible choice, but to ultimately succumb to their desires because they know life will not be the same if they let that person go.

Me: So, true. I love the happy sigh at the end of a romance or the anticipation of the first kiss. What advice do you have for other writers?

BL: My advice is two-fold. If you want to write, but you’re bogged down by career and/or family, you need to find a way to carve out some time for yourself. After the kids go to bed or before everyone wakes in the morning, while sitting at your child’s soccer practice, wherever you can squeeze it in, do so. It’s important to write every day to keep sharp.

And secondly—join critique groups, take classes, enter contests. Contrary to what many think, writing is not a solitary occupation. You can only gauge how good your work is by presenting it to an audience.

Me: I agree. I learned, and continue to learn, a lot from critiques, continuing to write and classes. Last fun question, if money were no object what hobby would you pick up?

BL: I love to take a lot of little pieces and create something beautiful with them. It makes sense that, after hobbies like jigsaw puzzles and quilting, writing would evolve, since it’s the same principle. So, following along with my penchant for piecing things together, if money were no object, I’d love to flip houses. I’ve had the opportunity to work alongside many great interior designers, and picked up a lot of valuable information from them. In my last house in Virginia, I took a very outdated, tiny bathroom and a small bedroom and created a romantic master bath and walk-in closet. I saved the wood floors from the bedroom, added a chandelier and a slipper tub. I hated to leave it behind. I’d love to be able to do it all again, time and again.

Me: You know, with your knowledge, you could probably get your own show on HGTV!

Thanks so much to Becky for stopping by my blog today! You can keep up with Becky on line on her blog, Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest.

And don’t forget to pick up your copy of The Abolitionist’s Secret at Crimson Romance , Amazon, or iTunes.

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

5 Responses to An Abolitionist Falls in Love With a Southern Gentleman

  1. Susan Blexrud says:

    Ah, a fellow Ohioan. I should have known! I enjoyed getting to know you better, Becky, and I love the conflict in The Abolitionist’s Secret. I’m also an early morning writer. I’ll be thinking about you tomorrow, wondering if you’re also settling in at your computer with your cup of coffee. I’ll raise my cup to you!

  2. Becky Lower says:

    Thanks, Susan. We’ll be mutually at our computers tomorrow morning, coffee in hand, with the chill of an Ohio winter nipping at our heels. Thanks for visiting!

    • Susan Blexrud says:

      Is The Abolitionist’s Secret available for my NOOK yet?

      • Becky Lower says:

        No, no Nook availability yet, so I can’t even buy my own book. It was just released yesterday, so I’m thinking it will be another month before it makes its way to B&N. My first book, The Reluctant Debutante, is available, tho.

  3. R.T. Wolfe says:

    Very exciting book. Here’s wishing you many sales!
    -R.T. Wolfe

Leave a Reply

