Food and Seduction…Two of My Favorite Topics

Today we’re talking food and seduction with another Tweetheart of mine, Candace  Shaw. I knew Candace and I would be Twitter BFF’s after we both agreed that the wedding episodes of A Different World are the best. shows. ever! We further bonded over our love for Dwayne Wade and Kevin Garnett (one of the 10 men my husband should fear). So I had to invite Candance over to talk about her two books Cooking Up Love and The Game of Seduction .  Food and Seduction, what’s there not to like about that?

Me: Tell me a little about yourself.

Candace Shaw: I live in Atlanta, Georgia with my husband and our dog Ali.  In my spare time, I like to hang with my husband, read, shop, work in my gardens, travel, decorate my home, eat out, listen to music, watch my favorite television shows, and spend time with family and friends.

 Me: Tell me about your series.

CS: The Arrington Family Series centers around five siblings who are doctors along with their parents in the family’s private medical practice. It is set in Memphis, Tennessee overall. In the first book, Cooking Up Love, the youngest sibling Shelbi, is a food critic with The Memphis Tribune. She accepted the position in order to bury her medical career even though she is expected to start her residency and then join the family’s practice. But because of something that happened during her internship in medical school, she’s reluctant to begin. She meets chef Justin Richardson on the trolley one afternoon and is completely taken by the handsome man. Justin isn’t exactly fond of doctors, especially the one who couldn’t save his mother during surgery when Justin was only twelve years old. It’s a fun and flirty romance novel that was released in May 2012 is available as an ebook and in print.

The second book in the series, The Game of Seduction , focuses on the fourth Arrington sibling, Bria, who’s an allergist at the family’s medical practice. She wants to incorporate naturopathic medicine with traditional medicine for her patients but her father, the head of the practice, is totally against it causing Bria to make a decision to either stay or go to another practice that will allow her to incorporate both. In the meantime, she finds herself falling for her sexy, mocha-covered friend, playboy Rasheed Vincent. This book has a sexy tone and there are a lot of hot scenes. It was released in August 2012 and is available as an ebook. (See the blurb and excerpt below)

My note: Can I just agree that Rasheed is uber sexy: tall, dark and handsome! Okay, on with interview.

I’m currently working on a short prequel titled Simply Amazing which focuses on the oldest sibling, Cannon, who’s a pediatrician, but is in medical school in the prequel. It will be released in December 2012 as a free read. The third book, Only One for Me, takes place twelve years after the prequel. I’m still working on the outline and have a few scenes typed. It will be more of a romantic comedy type book (I think). Cannon and his ex fiancée, Yasmine Dubose are planning a wedding, except it’s not their wedding. It will be released sometime in 2013.

There are two more Arrington siblings. Cannon’s twin sister, Raven, who is an OBGYN and a widow. Raven’s book, Prescription for Desire will be released in 2014. Last, but not least, Sean a psychiatrist, middle child and a bad boy playboy. I don’t have an outline for these two siblings, just ideas floating around in my head.

 Me: Man oh man, you are busy! When do you make time for writing?

CS: As far as a writing schedule, I tried to have one, but now I write whenever I’m in the mood. Ideas and words flow better for me late at night when I should be sleep, but I do write during the day as well, but it’s mostly editing or rewriting a scene.  However, if I’m behind my own personal deadline, then I write in the afternoon from one to four. I’m not a morning person, so I don’t even attempt to write in the morning.

Me: I’m a night owl, too. My writing flows better after dark. Why do you write romance?

CS: I write romance novels because I love to read romance and watch romantic movies.

Me: What advice do you have for other writers?

Join a writer’s group in your city in order to surround yourself with aspiring and published authors who can motivate and guide you along your path. I belong to Georgia Romance Writers a chapter of Romance Writers of America. I’ve met many down-to-earth New York Times bestselling authors who are willing to read and critique your work and offer sound advice.   Also, find a critique group in your same genre who will give their honest opinions. Plus, it’s always good to have another set of eyes before sending a manuscript to a publisher or editor.

Me: Great advice! I joined RWA this year and have met so many wonderful and helpful writers. Okay, last fun question, if money were no object what hobby would you pick up?

CS: I would shop more, preferably for purses and sundresses with cute sandals.

Me: See…we’ve bonded yet again! I would totally become a purse and dress whore if I were rich 🙂

CS: Thank you so much for having me here today. I brought along the blurb and a short excerpt from The Game of Seduction.

Thanks for stopping by Candace! Check out the blurb and sexy excerpt from The Game of Seduction then let me know if you agree that Rasheed is uber hot.

Blurb

Dr. Bria Arrington has had her heart broken by one bad boy playboy and doesn’t want to travel down that road again. However, she finds herself attracted to her best friend, self-proclaimed bachelor, Rasheed Vincent. After a passionate kiss leaves them desiring more, seducing each other is the only cure.

A retired basketball player, Rasheed is a player on and off the court. When a woman gets too close, he bounces to the next one. But the condition he’s in makes him want a permanent dose of Bria’s love, and he’s ready for the shot. She knows falling in love with Rasheed is a prescription for trouble, yet she’s willing to risk it. But can she trust him with her heart?

Excerpt

Rasheed leaned against the wall in the VIP section sipping on rum and Coke and trying hard not to stare at Bria. Her short black dress was hugging her lethal curves, and he wanted to take it off and wrap her cocoa legs around his waist while she called out his name repeatedly. He tried to pretend to flirt with the groupies passing by, but they weren’t doing anything for him. Bria had awakened a passion and lust in him that he couldn’t ever remember feeling before. Her long hair fell over her right shoulder in a sexy manner, and he imagined running his hands through it or holding onto to it as he gave it to her from behind. The night before, he couldn’t sleep. The thought that she actually needed and wanted her flames of desire extinguished, prevented him from resting peacefully and filled his mind. Images of her naked mocha-kissed body next to him invaded his brain all night, and the erection that prevailed only went away after a cold shower.

Rasheed downed the rest of his drink, sat the glass on the table, and walked over to her as she held a conversation with Raven.

“Excuse me, ladies. Bree, do you wanna go dance?”

“Sure.” Bria excused herself from Raven and walked onto the dance floor.

The DJ was playing an upbeat party mix that included Lady Ga Ga, Jay-Z, Beyonce, and Rihanna. Rasheed danced behind Bria, grinding on her to the fast beat. He was surprised she hadn’t resisted, especially when he pulled her by the hips close to him and a hard-on started to manifest, but she continued dancing, swishing her butt on him in an erotic manner as if they were naked and joined together. When Rihanna’s “Rude Boy” came on, she turned around to face him and sung the entire song as she continued her seductive dance on him.

He bent down and whispered in her ear.

“You keep doing that, you’ll find out how rude this boy is. Because trust me, baby, I’m more than big enough, but the question is, can you take it?” He gave her a slow grind so she could feel exactly how hard he was.

She looked up at him from beneath her lashes with a sexy, confident expression on her face.

“I can handle all of you.” She caressed the back of his neck, and he knew it was time to go before he pulled up her dress on the dance floor.

“Let’s get out of here,” he groaned as his erection hardened more by her confident words.

Once in the limo, Bria straddled his lap and her dress rose around her hips to reveal a pair of black lace panties. His lips sought out hers, and he kissed her slow, nibbling on her bottom lip.

“I’ve been aching to kiss you again, Bree,” he said. He pulled her tongue further into his mouth, savoring the sweetness of it and feeling himself completely losing his mind. “You have the sexiest lips that I can’t get enough of.”

Buy Links: Amazon Amazon UK Barnes and Noble All Romance eBooks Smashwords Print Edition Diesel eBook Store Sony ereader Bookstore Kobo

You can keep up with Candace via: Twitter: Facebook, or her Blog/Website

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

7 Responses to Food and Seduction…Two of My Favorite Topics

  1. Candace Shaw says:

    Hi, Synithia! Thank you so much for having me here today. We do have a lot in common. I simply love purses and cute dresses. Shoes too but defintely purses oh and earrings.

  2. Nice interview! I’m looking forward to the next installment of the Arrington Family series. Wishing you continued success, Candace!

  3. Candace, your book series seems very tempting. I’ll be definitely adding them to my reading queue. I can’t wait to start reading them. Thanks, Synthia, for putting me onto another author!

Leave a Reply

