Night Club Singing, Writing, and Good vs. Evil. Interview with Danita Minnis

Today I’m chatting with another author I had the pleasure of meeting through the Twittersphere. I visited Danita’s blog a few weeks ago, and after learning about her cool paranormal debut invited her over to meet you all. So without further adeiu welcome Danita Minnis.

Me: Tell me a little about yourself.

Danita Minnis: Writing is a labor of love for me as singing was once. I’m a singer-turned-writer. Having worked the New York City nightclub circuit I couldn’t leave my love of music out of my debut novel Falcon’s Angel.

Who knows, maybe nightclub singing might end up in one of my books. It’s an interesting vampire-like existence to wake up at 9:00 pm and call your friends and family to say goodnight before you go to work. I’m very attracted to the prowling darkness of a vampire’s life. More of that to come in Book Three of the Cardiff Family series when Angel’s uncle Xavier has to decide between love and his human existence.

Me: That is so cool to do from nightclub singing to writing. And working nights does lend a vampire type air to the whole process. Describe your publishing journey.

DM: I am frightfully new to the publishing industry but I’m in good hands with my publisher Liquid Silver Books. Everyone there has been wonderful starting with the acquisitions director who said yes to my first novel Falcon’s Angel. 🙂 I am learning about marketing and advertising and it can be overwhelming and very time-consuming. The folks at LSB are very supportive.

Me: You’re right about the marketing being overwhelming! Tell me about your book?

DM: My interest in reincarnation led me to write the love story Falcon’s Angel and the other stories in the Cardiff Novel series. The series is about a family’s soul-journey through various eras in time. In these stories you will see some of my favorite eras: the time of the Pharaohs, the height of the Roman Empire and even my spin on the beginning of man.
In Falcon’s Angel we travel from present-day Italy to pre-Revolutionary France and the opulence of King Louis XIV’s court.

Me: Wow! Your series sounds like a fun ride. Who or what inspires you as a writer?

DM: Falcon’s Angel is a story I had to write for many reasons. Love, for one thing. I’m a hopeless romantic, match-making my friends up and all. My hero and heroine also had a lot to do with it. They wouldn’t leave me alone!

Between Falcon dodging a serrated blade and Angel dodging the lustful il Dragone, I lost a lot of sleep. These two didn’t let up until I wrote it all down. I might go a few days without a character attack, but my guilty conscience knows I have unfinished business. I can’t leave Angel in the clutches of a sex-crazed devil-worshipper, can I? Hmm…well, I better not. Falcon would put me on his hit list after that.

Me: Man those characters will drive you crazy. Even when my characters call I may do other things and feel guilty for not indulging them. When do you make time for writing?

DM: I usually write something down in the early morning that I’ve mulled over in my sleep. When I get home from work I’ll finish the thought. I always try to finish a chapter when I sit down.

Me: Why do you write romance?

DM: I love that happily ever after. We don’t always get that in the real world and I know many people who want to see someone happy – just sayin.’ 🙂

Me: The same reason why I write romance. Life needs a little romance. What advice do you have for other writers?

DM: When you are done with the first book, write the second, third and so on whether you have a deal or not. If you work hard enough, it’s going to happen. Maybe not in your personal time frame, but be ready.

Me: Excellent advice! Last fun question, if money were no object what hobby would you pick up?

DM: I would record, produce and distribute my own songs! Since I’m a singer who loves singers of all types of music, I’d also have a show similar to the X-Factor to find and produce new talent.

Oooh, now that’s a reality show I’d watch 🙂 Thanks, Danita, for stopping by my blog! Be sure to check out Danita’s website and also catch up with her on Facebook.

Book Blurb:

Angelina wants to go unrecognized when she leaves her family’s Yorkshire estate to play in a symphony in Italy. When she starts running she has no idea just how much she is running from: a stolen Stradivarius, a birthright of mysterious powers and a past that got her killed over two hundred years ago.

Falcon wants the Stradivarius in her possession, and goes undercover to track down a thief. But he is not the only killer in search of the violin.

il Dragone, a devil-worshiping cult, wants revenge for a past only they can remember.

Falcon’s Angel is a paranormal romance of love that ended in tragedy in eighteenth century France. That love is tested in a fight of good versus evil some two hundred years later. This time around Falcon and Angel have an opportunity to put a stop to the cycle of murder and mayhem, if only they can remember.

Biography:

If you asked Danita Minnis which is easier, writing songs or writing novels, she would say it was the former. Melodies and rhymes are second nature. What her characters want is another thing entirely. With her debut novel, Falcon’s Angel, she learned to listen to her spunky heroine and sinfully confident hero. They’re funny and in danger, and that’s just the way they want it. Lesson learned: don’t try to save them.

When she’s not writing, Danita exercises her lungs at her son’s soccer matches and their favorite theme park, because everyone knows it’s easier on the stomach to scream your way down a roller coaster.

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

5 Responses to Night Club Singing, Writing, and Good vs. Evil. Interview with Danita Minnis

  1. Hmm…sounds interesting. Looking foward to checking it out! BTW, nice book cover!

  2. danitaminnis says:

    Synithia, thanks so much for having me on today! I really appreciate it 🙂

Leave a Reply

