Laura Simcox talks Backstage Romances

I was in one play in middle school. It was Bye Bye Birdie, and I played the mayor’s daughter. I had one line, but loved it because I got to dress up and sing (musical lover over here). That one experience taught me to appreciate music, drama and the stage. What a treat it is to learn that my guest today, Laura Simcox, has a history in theatre. One that gives her novel, Summer Promises, a fun storyline. Thanks to Laura for giving me a reason to reminiscence. Now enjoy her interview while I go find the pictures from my one stage experience 🙂

Me: Tell me a little about yourself.

Laura Simcox: I’m currently a prisoner of social media. As soon as I figure out how to break free, my life will become easier. I’m working on it! Besides that, I am a mom to a sweet three year old boy and a wife to a great guy. In my past life, I worked as a costume designer in professional theater and also taught college theater. I grew up in the Midwest.

My note: Same here! Social media is a huge distraction!

Me: Describe your publishing journey.

LS: When my husband and I brought our son home, I was just starting a new position at the college where I had been teaching. Like, I had taught a week of classes before we got the call that all paperwork was finished and our son was ready to bring home! Adoption is not always predictable or convenient, but I wouldn’t change a thing. Our son is precious. So precious that when I found out that funding for my new position wasn’t guaranteed, I quit to be home with our son. That’s when I started seriously thinking about publication of the romance novel I had written. I joined RWA and my local chapter, Heart of Carolina Romance Writers. Quickly, I got sucked into learning about the world of romance publishing. It’s fascinating! I began to shop my book around and I got a big bite! It debuted September 17 and is now available as an e-book, with print to follow.

Me: Tell me about your book?

LS: ‘Summer Promises’ is the story of Carly Foster, a young woman who travels to summer theaters for work as a scenic designer. She’s been unlucky in love and sick of the ‘drama trauma’ associated with summer theater romance. This summer, she’s promised herself that she won’t fall for anyone. That’s when Asher Day walks into her life with a wink that won’t let her say no.

Me: Looks like someone dug into past experiences for this book :). Tell me who or what inspires you as a writer?

LS: My past experiences for sure. Working in theater gave me the opportunity to see a lot of the USA. Growing up, my parents enjoyed taking vacations to museums and national parks. I have a huge sense of adventure and I’m thankful for it.

Me: I understand how hard it can be to write when you have children. When do you make time for writing?

LS: I write in the morning when my son is in preschool. I hope to write in the afternoon when/if he naps. If I have a deadline, I’ve been known to get up at five a.m. to write. I won’t work at night. Ever. I had to do that for twenty years in theater.

Me: Why do you write romance?

LS: I write romance because I love the promise of Happily Ever After.

Me: What advice do you have for other writers?

LS: Make a plan for yourself that includes learning about all facets of publishing. Always have a work in progress. Finish your books. Make genuine connections with people you like and respect.

My note: I did the underline and bold of your statement b/c it’s something I really believe in.

Me: Last fun question, if money were no object what hobby would you pick up?

LS: Oooh. Great question! My hobby would be to take a month long tour every year. I’d go to a different city in the world each time. I’d challenge myself to eat, shop, sightsee and meet interesting people. Heaven!

Me: Ummm, can I go with you? That sounds like a perfect hobby!

If you want to learn more about Laura you can visit her website, or find her on Facebook and Twitter.

Book blurb:

Scenic designer Carly Foster just started her last summer theater job, and at the ripe old age of twenty-nine, she promised herself it would be a working vacation in the mountains of New Mexico- with no romance allowed. But luck is so not on her side: she’s stuck in a touristy ghost town with a charming bodyguard who’s flirting with her just to relieve his own boredom. How insulting! Besides, she’s finished with the ‘drama trauma’ of theater romance: her love life has never been beyond Act One because she can’t stay away from tortured artists. Not this time.

But she’s trapped 24/7 with a perfect specimen: Asher Day, the producer’s brother recently returned from New York City with an armload of empty canvasses and a vanload of attitude. A sexy painter who won’t talk about his past? So typical. But Carly is determined not to repeat the ‘drama trauma’ of her past relationships. If only Asher could live up to his wounded artist persona, she could kick him to the curb and stick by her goal to stay away from the type of guy who stomps on her spirit. But the magnetic pull she feels from Asher is irresistible. He has inner strength and compassion, not to mention a heart-melting wink. And his kisses leave her sleepless. If Carly can’t keep the drama in the theater and out of her personal life, not only will she have bags under her eyes, but her heart will never survive the summer.

Available at Crimson Romance, Amazon and iTunes.

Bio:

After spending twenty years in professional theater as a costume designer, Laura abandoned the nomadic lifestyle to sit in a comfy pleather office chair at a beat up ginormous second hand oak desk and write. The result? Romance novels! Her favorite thing ever since she was, oh, about twelve. She is thrilled to be counted among the romance authors of this world and enjoys reading all genres. She writes contemporary, light novels and enjoys creating quirky characters and funny dialogue. Sometimes it’s even juvenile dialogue, but hey, who couldn’t use a dose of silly humor every now and then? Still, the love story is the focus and Laura has a huge soft spot for a sappy, happy ending.

Laura lives in North Carolina with her husband (true love is real!!!) and her adorable, high energy three year old son who is currently obsessed with pirates. And that’s cool, because she loves ’em too.

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

4 Responses to Laura Simcox talks Backstage Romances

  1. ljsimcox says:

    Hi Synithia! It was great fun answering your questions. Thanks for having me!

  2. Lovely blog post. It’s so nice to know more about you, Laura. I had to laugh at your comment about never working at night, because you did it for years during your theater career. I worked as a grocery store checker throughout college and in grad school, too, and now I have a definite phobia about shopping in grocery stores! Thank goodness my husband doesn’t mind doing that chore. Or else I’d starve. Best of luck, Laura! Backstage Romances sounds wonderful. May you have many, many sales!

    • ljsimcox says:

      Thank you, Deborah! Yes…jobs can produce phobias, can’t they? Here’s to hoping I never get phobias about adverbs or similes! And oh how I wish my husband would do the grocery store thing. But I’ll settle for him taking on a few loads of laundry each week. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

