Meet author Delaney Diamond

Today I’d like you all to meet author Delaney Diamond. I was first introduced to Delaney when I read her romance Fight for Love. She writes sweet and sensual romances that are sure to keep you entertained. Today she’s here to shed some insight on her publishing journey, and to make it fun she’s offering a prize! So sit back and get to know Delaney.

Me: Describe your journey to becoming published.

Delaney Diamond: I’ve been reading romance novels since I was eleven and wrote my first one at the age of fourteen, but I never had any real aspirations to be a writer. In fact, after high school, I stopped writing fiction altogether. In 2009 I caught the writing bug and decided to write romance novels because I enjoy reading them. To help me toward my goal, I joined the Romance Writers of America (RWA) in January of 2010. Thanks to the great women I met there, especially my critique partners, the first book in my Hot Latin Men series was published by Amira Press in November 2010. The title is The Arrangement.

Me: You’ve published with an e-publisher and self-published, what are the pros/cons you’ve seen with these routes?

DD: E-publisher pros:

  • Knowledge of the industry you can learn from (you hope).
  • The publisher bears the financial risk of getting the book out. They pay for the cover art and editing.
  • They take care of formatting of the manuscript and upload it to all the online retailers.

E-publisher cons:  

  • They have the final say in the cover and any changes in the manuscript since it’s published by their company, which means you have to grin and bear it even if you don’t like what they’ve done.
  • Because the publisher has invested in you, they get a cut of the royalties.
  • New releases are at the mercy of the publisher’s schedule.
  • No control over prices.

Self-published pros:

  • You, the author, are in control of everything about the book: the content of the final manuscript, the cover design, price, and the release date.
  • You get to keep all the royalties from each sale.

Self-published cons:

  • You bear the cost of putting out the book, which means hiring a cover artist (if you can’t design a cover yourself) and hiring an editor.
  • If anything goes wrong, you can’t blame the publisher. It’s your fault.

In both cases, authors carry the weight of promotion and marketing. However, some e-presses market their company (which could have some benefits to the author) and provide limited marketing for their bestselling authors.

Me. Who or what inspires you as a writer?

DD: I get inspiration from a number of places: books I read, life, and movies I watch. Inspiration can come from just about anywhere.

Me: When do you make time for writing?

DD: If I’m deep into a story and feeling inspired, I’ll write as much as I can. Under normal circumstances, I’ve learned that I can get more writing done when I write at night.

Me: Why do you write romance, specifically interracial romance?

DD: I know everyone says this, but I really do love a happy ending. I’m a romantic, and I look forward to reading the journey the couple takes from beginning to end, and I wanted to write those kinds of stories. Nothing in particular drew me to writing interracial romance except that I wanted to write stories about romance, and interracial marriage/dating, etc. has become more common and accepted. I’ve also dated interracially, so it just made sense.

Me: What advice do you have for other writers?

DD: Perfect your craft by not only reading books on writing, but reading more in general.  Sorry, this is a pet peeve of mine, but please don’t put out a book that hasn’t been proofread or edited because you don’t have the money. If you can’t afford to get your book edited, hold off and save up until you do. Would you buy a car that didn’t have functional brakes or a working A/C because the manufacturer couldn’t afford to have them installed? Invest in yourself before you ask readers to invest in you with their dollars!

My Note: Great analogy!

Blurb

Who doesn’t love a bad boy?

Lorena Vega knows better than to have anything else to do with Matthew Hawthorne. Then he comes to her and asks for her help in writing a proposal for a grant to benefit the community center where he volunteers. She agrees to do the work, but she has her guard up, because having Matthew in her life again is a problem she doesn’t need.

Matthew still carries some guilt from when he hurt Lorena. Seeing her again for the first time in months makes him realize what a huge mistake he made, and he wants another chance to be the kind of man she deserves. He’s determined to win her back and prove he’s not the player he used to be, and nothing will stand in his way.

Not even the new man in her life.

Excerpt

After she hung up, Lorena stood and walked over to the single window in her office. Through the blinds, she saw Matthew’s black vehicle in the parking lot, glimmering from its most recent wax job.

She folded her arms across her chest and waited. She was over him, of course, but foolishly, she wanted to see him, looked forward to a glimpse from several stories up. He should make an appearance soon. Anticipation built inside of her as the seconds dragged by.

“Looking for me?”

Lorena’s heart leapfrogged into her throat at the familiar voice. She whirled around to see Matthew standing with his left shoulder resting against the doorframe.

How unfair, he looked amazing—as usual. At a few inches over six feet, he towered over the average woman and was taller than the average man. Because he regularly worked out, his hard, muscular body hadn’t changed since his college days when he played football.

He always took great care with his appearance. From his weekly barbershop visits to make sure his Caesar haircut stayed low-cut and finely trimmed, to picking out the right clothes and sending them out to be cleaned and pressed. Almost everything he did was for one purpose: to capture the attention of the opposite sex.

“What are you still doing here?” she asked. “Rahab thought you must have slipped out when she wasn’t looking.”

“She was wrong. I know you see my truck is still out there. That’s why you’re standing at the window, isn’t it? To see when I leave?”

****

Patches of color tinged her caramel cheeks. “Don’t flatter yourself. What do you want?” she demanded.

His body had tightened the minute she turned her brown gaze on him. He’d missed her, but he hadn’t realized the extent until he saw her again. He’d been enjoying the view from behind, the tailored slacks hugging her trim waist and covering what he knew to be toned runner’s legs. Her lean body was muscular, but managed to be soft and feminine at the same time.

Damn, she looks good, he thought. Why had they broken up again?

Buy it now:  All Romance EbooksAmazon

~CONTEST~

On Friday, I’m having a big bash on my website with lots of giveaways, but I’m also giving away a prize today! Contest is open to international participants. Prize: an ebook of your choice of any of my books published before Here Comes Trouble. To enter: In the comments below, tell me why you read romance novels. Deadline: You must enter no later than 11:59 PM EST today. The winner’s name will be posted in the comments below before 10 am EST tomorrow with instructions on how to claim your prizes.

Winners will be chosen by random.org.

Delaney Diamond writes sweet and sensual romance novels with multicultural characters. You can enjoy free reads and the first chapter of all her novels on her website.

Blog tour schedule: http://delaneydiamond.com/2012/07/16/here-comes-trouble-virtual-book-tour/

Website and blog: http://delaneydiamond.com

Facebook fan page: http://facebook.com/DelaneyDiamond

 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/delaneydiamond

 

Me again: Thanks so much, Delaney for stopping by! Don’t forget to tell us why you love romance for a chance to win one of Delaney’s books.

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

20 Responses to Meet author Delaney Diamond

  1. Thank you for being a host during my tour, Synithia! I look forward to chatting with your readers.

  2. Beverly says:

    Very nice and informative interview. I read romance because I enjoy reading about the journey/conflict couples have when finding their soul mate whether they were looking for love or not.

  3. sharyn Gray says:

    Can’t wait to read “Here Comes Trouble”

  4. Cora Blu says:

    Great post. Why I read romance? I read almost everything yet romance fills the human void the others leave. Romance means different things to different people and it’s fun to see how they come to that happy ending.

    Cora Blu

    • Hi Sharyn and Cora! *waving* Cora, the happy ending is what does it for me every time. That’s why I’m hooked on reading romance novels.

    • Synithia W says:

      I agree, Cora. The journey to the happy ending is what makes romances so much fun to read. Good stories go beyond a simple boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy gets girl back formula.

  5. MicheleAnn Oboyle says:

    Dealney i acatully love the title of your book here comes trouble that is acatually very clever sig

  6. Louise says:

    I really enjoyed this information on self pub.

  7. Michele, the title perfectly fits the hero. He really ends up causing some trouble for himself and the heroine.

    Glad you found the information on self pubbing useful, Louise. It’s a different world in publishing than it used to be just a few years ago, but I think it’s good for authors.

  8. Great interview Synithia and Delaney! I love romance novels, read them and now write them because happily ever afters just warm my heart and it ends on an optimistic note. Can’t wait to read “Here Comes Trouble” Delaney!

  9. Today’s winner is Cora Blu! Congratulations! Please contact me at delaneydiamond @ ymail.com and let me know which backlist book you’d like and in which eformat.

    Thank you everyone for participating. I’ll see you tomorrow at the next stop!

  10. Hi Cora,

    I don’t have your email address. Send me an email so I can forward you a copy. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

