Interview with author Rionna Morgan

This fine day, I’d like to introduce you to author Rionna Morgan. Not only did I enjoy Rionna’s interview because I like learning how other author’s approach writing, but because I learned about barrel racing.  So, sit back and get to know Rionna.

Me: Tell me a little about yourself.

Rionna Morgan: I am the youngest of seven.  I’m a Army Brat.  I was a professional barrel racer.  I love to read; I’m a terrible singer.  I love to read!—oh yes…I said that.

Me: Describe your journey to becoming published?

RM: I’ve always been a writer.  I’m pretty sure it’s in my soul.  The most amazing places in the world to me are bookstores and libraries, places with books!  I cried when I went to The Library of Congress for the first time—and all I did was stand on the stairs.

When I was in middle school I entered writing contests, same with high school, and college.  When I was in college, I actually began winning enough money to help pay for my education.

I joined book clubs and writing groups on my path to publication.  I still have my first rejection letter, I have all of them, as a matter of fact.  But, the first one was thrilling…just a simple “No Thanks” written in the upper right hand corner of my original query letter.  Not even a form letter.  So funny!  I get it out and look at it from time to time and smile.  I was so proud to get that letter.  It meant I was at the beginning of it all!

My note(s): First all, I love libraries too! I think it’s weird others don’t. Second: co-sign on the feeling that came with first rejection.

Me: Tell me about your book?

RM: My book, The Wanting Heart, is about a barrel racer from Colorado who gets swept off her feet by a serial killer.  It is Romantic Suspense and will be released, July 9, 2012 by Crimson Romance.

ME: Okay, help a South Carolina girl who’s never ridden a horse out; what’s barrel racing?

RM: You are so wonderful.  Hmmm.  I think I’ll send you a link…here’s one I found http://youtu.be/awR1zuyfXwo. This is from the National Finals Rodeo—it’s like the world series of rodeo or the super bowl of rodeo where all the best competitors from around the nation gather to see who will win World Champion!  It happens once a year in December in Las Vegas, Nevada.  🙂

Me: Who or what inspires you as a writer?

RM: Life, I suppose is the greatest inspiration.  I can create an entire plot from a single idea…like an explosion at a prison.  If I were to put a name on who inspires me, I would give the credit to my mom.  She was forever spouting poetry and beautiful words.

Me: When do you make time for writing?

RM: I have four beautiful children who take up my daylight hours as well as my wonderful husband.  So I am a midnight writer.  I often have people ask me where I’m from when I’m online in the middle of the night, finding it hard to believe that I’m awake at 2 a.m.

Me: Why do you write romance?

RM: I am a hopeless or perhaps, hopeful, romantic.  I think that romance leads us to the most truth in human emotion.  There are many elements of life that bring a thrilling adventure, but without the love, we are lacking; we are empty.

Me: What advice do you have for other writers?

RM: Write what you love…that will come through in the words you share.  You won’t have to expound on how much something means to you; the meaning will speak for itself.  And never give up

Thanks Rionna for stopping by my blog! You can keep up with Rionna on Twitter, Facebook and Goodreads. But make sure you check out her blog for a chance to win a piece of Montana: http://www.rionnamorgan.blogspot.com/p/enter-to-win.html

The Wanting Heart, is available July 9 from Crimson Romance

Katherine White, a barrel racer from Colorado, lives in a fast-paced world where rhinestones shine, hooves pound, and dreams come true.  She plans on winning World Champion Barrel Racer and being with her friends until she graduates from college.  

She doesn’t plan on the man who broke her heart strolling back into her life.  She doesn’t plan on finding solace in a charming stranger’s smile or falling victim to his knife.

Blake Spencer, the man who broke her heart, is all cowboy—from the hat on his head to the dust on his boots. He thought it’d be easy, coming back to town, bowing his head a little, saying he was sorry, and all would be forgiven.  But what he didn’t know, what he didn’t plan on, was that the girl he thought he loved had become the woman he couldn’t have. If he doesn’t succeed in changing her mind, it won’t only cost him Kate’s love—it will cost Kate her life.

Will Kate survive the stalking of a serial killer and find what her heart truly wants?

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

2 Responses to Interview with author Rionna Morgan

  1. Synithia,

    Thank you so much for such a lovely interview! I had such a nice time spending time with you.

    Have a great weekend!

    All the Best,
    Rionna

Leave a Reply

