A Series is Born

As I wrote my novel You Can’t Plan Love, it wasn’t with the plan to develop a series. But, as what often happens when I write, the characters began taking a life of their own. As I completed the story I realized a few of the characters had other things going on in their lives which needed addressing. So, as I worked through the revisions of Malcolm and Kenyatta’s story, I began writing Malcolm’s brother Jared’s story. I must say a part of me enjoyed watching Jared’s journey more than Malcolm’s. He had more to overcome before he could accept love. Right now his story is with a critique partner.

But that wasn’t the end of it. Malcolm also has a best friend, Dr. Devin Jones, who had a story to tell. And wouldn’t you know, as I wrote Jared story, the best friend of Jared’s love interest turned out to have a link to Devin. And that’s the story I’m working on now between revisions to my second manuscript (Worth the Wait if you’re curious about the title).

I tried to start another novel with no ties to this series, but I couldn’t get into it. These characters kept nagging me to get their stories told. So, while I admit that by the end of Malcolm and Kenyatta’s story I had an idea for two more stories. I really took me by surprise to have another character from Jared’s story request I come back to them.

My abundance of ideas about characters, story ideas and potential connections required me to make some sense of it all. In my usual, anal way I created a flow chart. I arranged all of the characters who’ve spoken to me and requested I bring their story to light in neat little boxes with arrows showing their connection to other characters. Notes show how those connections affect their views of life, relationships and may potentially cause conflict.

Now I have a very sketchy plan for a total of seven novels. I think that’s a pretty good commitment to continue writing. My only problem will be the characters introduced as I write these other stories. I’m sure they’ll pester me, and before long I’ll have another flow chart outlining more stories. Here’s hoping someone loves my tales as much as I do and that they’ll be published for you all to enjoy soon.

Do you love series, sequels or both? I’m not a fan of book sequels, usually I stop reading after the second (Harry Potter and Twilight are the exceptions) but I love series and catching up with previous characters without having to “live” with them for the length of another novel.

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

5 Responses to A Series is Born

  1. I had much the same experience when I finished my first novel. About 3 more stories have grown from there, and I expect more to follow. I’m just not good about putting them in flow charts. 😉 Here’s too getting all the stories told!

  2. I had much the same experience when I finished my first book. It spawned 3 more stories, and I’m sure more will follow…I’m just not good with a flow chart. 😉 Here’s to getting all the stories told!

  3. I love it when that happens, and I believe readers do also. I’ve often been asked by readers, “Will your next story include the same characters?” I think that is a good sign that your characters are believable, that they have taken on a life of their own that you and yours readers don’t want to see them go. Great job! I can’t wait to read. 😉

Leave a Reply

