A Method Writer

I’ve wanted to blog about my writing style for a while, but never knew how to describe it. Low and behold, the March edition of Romance Writer’s Report hit the proverbial nail on the head. When I read Adele Dubois’ article Infuse Your Book with Emotion: The Method I had one of those “this is it” moments. I am a method writer.

In the article Ms. Dubois defines method writing. In my words, it’s a play on method acting, where you live the part of the character. It goes beyond just writing about how your characters feel, or showing what they’re doing, to actually feeling what your characters feel and doing what they do. This idea may not be new to veteran writers, but it was an “ah ha” moment for me. When I write, I internalize my characters emotions. I tap into the anger, happiness, jealousy and other various emotions my character is feeling. I even make the facial expressions they portray. It’s not unusual to find me sitting at my lap top cringing, laughing, frowning or making hand gestures. I want to experience what my character is going through and demonstrate it on the page. Therefore, I become my character.

My method writing really affected me during the drafting of my second manuscript Worth the Wait (Yay, you get the title!). Both the hero and heroine believe the other has betrayed them which completely undermines the newfound trust  and love they discovered with each other. As I wrote, I became completely immersed in the feelings of hurt, anger and overwhelming sadness of both my characters. So much so, that after completing a scene the sadness stayed with me. It took a few hours, or even a night of sleep, to finally lose those feelings. I hope it’s portrayed in my novel.

There are 14 method procedures in the article, many of which I do without realizing it was a habit of my writing. It’s so enlightening to finally put a name to what I previously called weird face making while writing.

Are you a method writer or is there another strategy you use to tap into your characters emotions?

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

Leave a Reply

