Second Campaigner Challenge #writecampaign

Oh…my…goodness! This campaigner challenge was a doozy. I almost didn’t participate. I wasn’t sure if I could actually do it, but I did. So below I’ve listed the five (count them five) prompts. One a written prompt, the other four picture prompts. If I didn’t hit all the challenge requirements I still think I did a darn good job. Check it out.

Prompt 1: Two people are sitting together under the remains of a concrete bridge. Their backs are against a rusted bridge support. One person’s leg is cut. The other person has wet hair.

Picture prompts

  

 

I didn’t do all the bonus challenge items. (For non-campaigners click here  to see the entire challenge) Instead I took the challenge to: write a short story/flash fiction piece of less than 200 words based on the prompts. I’m also taking the challenge to ask for critiques of my short story.

So, without further ado here it is.

The Aftermath

“Use a bucket, Jackie, not a spoon.”

Jackie jumped and spun. “Don’t sneak up on me.” She turned back to catching water dripping off the bridge’s concrete remains. The splashing drops reminded me of a pear. My mouth watered, what I’d give for a piece of fruit.

Jackie brought the spoon to her lips and drank. I cringed.

I sat against one of the bridge supports. The rust flaked off and rained over me.

Jackie flipped a wet blonde lock of hair from her face. “Where am I going to find a bucket anyway?”

She sat beside me and pointed her spoon at the cut on my leg. “What happened?”

I shrugged. “One of the trash kids found a red coat. I stopped the others from stealing it.”

She smirked. “Still playing the hero.” She threw down the spoon. “Stupid kid, doesn’t he know coats are a luxury nowadays.”

I looked up and saw the glow of searching flashlights. Panicking, I tapped Jackie and stood. “Oh crap, let’s run.”

~~~

That’s it. 200 word flash fiction based on the prompts. Thoughts?

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

14 Responses to Second Campaigner Challenge #writecampaign

  1. Liza says:

    This is really well written and engaging. One of the best I think. Good job! (#30)

  2. I love the fact that she’s catching water with a spoon. You have very tight writing, but I would love to see you loosen up a bit and add in details or more small actions of the character.

    #38

  3. deniz says:

    I’m really impressed by everyone who used all the prompts. Great story!

  4. Ashley Nixon says:

    I like your use of the prompts! These were so hard to use, but you craft a very well-written story here! The characters are really vivid to me. Great job! 🙂

  5. C.M. Brown says:

    Strong emphasis on your characters, they seemed real! Nice work!

  6. Nice entry. Good use of the prompts. Nice character chemistry, too.
    Melissa Maygrove #14

  7. Really good hon 😉

    Vikki (no26) xx

  8. Congratulations. You have moved on to Stage 2 of the Challenge.

  9. Great job using all the prompts – I love how you picked a small piece of each one and expanded on it. 🙂

    Congratulations on moving to the next round!

  10. Hope they make it to safety from wherever those search lights come from!! Nicely done!!

Leave a Reply

