Yes, I am a “Green Queen”

If you’ve read my bio on Twitter, you know that I spend my days improving air and water quality. It’s a job that I enjoy because as a local government worker, I feel that my efforts have an impact close to home. The Environmental Protection Agency sends down laws from on-high, but many people in my county don’t trust the federal government. On the other hand, they appreciate when us local government workers come out and tell them what’s happening on the ground. How polluted is their water and how dirty is the air.

I was really surprised, and flattered, when The State Newspaper listed me as a “Green Queen” in February 2010. After the article I received a call from the principal of an African-American private school. She asked me to speak to her students and I readily accepted. In my entire K-12 career, I don’t remember a single black woman coming to talk to my class. I’m not saying it to be critical, it’s just a fact. When a little girl remembers me from a fair, school presentation or workshop I have a little bit of joy in my heart. I hope that I serve as some type of role model or inspiration for them to pursue their dreams.

Plus, I love talking to students about what I do. In fact, I’m speaking at three different schools this week.

No, my day job isn’t sexy. Most days I want to shake one of my male co-workers, but for the most part I’m happy with my job and my life. It inspired me as I wrote my first novel, and continues to help me discover ways that I can lower my impact on this Earth.

Does your day job inspire you in anyway? If not, it may be time to take stock of your goals. Happiness and inspiration make life worth living.

State Newspaper Green Queen Article: http://www.thestate.com/2010/02/28/1178814/meet-four-more-green-queens.html

 

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

2 Responses to Yes, I am a “Green Queen”

  1. Congratulations! I know the kids really enjoyed it.

  2. lisa says:

    You change lives in more ways that you can imagine. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

