Interview with writer/publisher Stefanie Newell

Considering that my day job requires lots of talking and public speaking, you’d think that discussing my writing would be easy. It wasn’t. Sure I wanted people to know what I’d spent years working on, but it was so close to me, so personal, that I didn’t know if I’d be able to share my “baby.” After I completed my manuscript and began revisions, I went to the internet for advice and became a blog lurker. You know, the person who reads what others blogs and the advice they have to offer without commenting. That is, until I came across  Stefanie Newell’s Write One Blog. Her posts and videos offering advice about promoting yourself as a writer,  helped me become comfortable discussing my manuscript. I enjoyed her posts so much that I stopped lurking and began commenting. I was very excited when she asked me to guest blog for her last year, and appreciative that she’s agreed to an interview for my blog. I want you all to check her out because I feel that her advice on writing and promotion are helpful to us aspiring writers. Enjoy!

Me:  Describe your journey to becoming published.

Stefanie Newell: When I finished my first novel, my goal was simple…to be traditionally published. As I began looking into the publishing aspect a little deeper and started sending out letters to agents, I realized that it would be a lot more challenging than I had expected. I also realized that I wanted creative control and traditional publishing really couldn’t provide that to a new author. From there, I made the decision to instead start my own publishing company. The rest is history.

 Me: Who or what inspires you as a writer?

SN: I’m inspired by human behavior and experiences. My first book The Buzz: When celebrity gossip goes wrong was inspired by many years of observing the music industry as a freelance writer and lurking on gossip blogs and message boards. I wrote what I had observed over the years and embellished it to make characters that you would either love or greatly despise.

Me: You have your own publishing company, a YouTube series and you offer manuscript critiques, how do you stay motivated and keep up with it all? 

SN: Honestly it can be really difficult at times. Some days it feels as though there aren’t enough hours in the day. But I try to remember what my ultimate goal is and then carve out a little time for other writers, my own writing, and my publishing company. Getting emails from other writers telling me how a video or a blog post has helped them also helps to keep me motivated. At the end of the day, I love writing and I love helping people, so that’s ultimately what keeps me motivated.

Me: What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

SN: Initially the most difficult part is getting started and actually completing your manuscript. There are certainly a whole new set of hurdles once you’ve been published, but making time for your writing can be a challenge. Before I was ever published I wondered how writers could go years without releasing a new book and now as a published author myself I understand that you first need inspiration and secondly time. If you have the time write, you can go back and perfect it later. But making the time can be a huge hurdle to overcome.

Thanks so much to Stefanie for this interview. Make sure you check out her blog www.thewriteoneblog.com and follow her on Twitter @writeonepub for her latest posts.

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

Leave a Reply

