Cheating On E-Books With “Real” Books

I am a bandwagoner. I hate to admit it but it’s true. You see, when I hear people raving about something I have to know what all the fuss is about.  E-books were no exception. I jumped on the e-book bandwagon after reading about this girl, Amanda Hocking, who became rich selling e-books for 99¢. Of course my curiosity got to me and I had to see what all the fuss was about. So yes people, I purchased a $130 e-reader just to read a 99¢ book.

This came as quite a shock to my family. My parents and husband wanted to buy an e-reader for me, the family’s book worm, last Christmas. At the time I was adamant against e-books. You know the familiar argument: I love the feel, smell, overall betterness of a real book. So my sudden need to have an e-reader had them all shaking their heads. I got my Nook, downloaded my 99¢ book and went to town. It’s so friggin easy! You just search for the book you want on the reader, click, and buy. I’ll admit this ease does not help my impulsive shopping tendencies, but remember I did spend over $130 to read something that was less than a dollar.

I love my e-reader so much I named it. Her name is Escape, because she is my escape from reality. Cheesy right? I know, I love it! I love talking to my friends with e-readers about what they’ve downloaded, how we can share books with each other, and how great it is to buy directly on the device. No more visits to book stores! Even more of a plus, e-books are “green”. No trees have to die to support my reading habit. How could a Green Queen not love this?

I thought I’d go forever without purchasing another book. But old habits die-hard y’all. You have to understand that I’ve loved reading since I was little. Some of my fondest memories are from my summers in the library. It started with The Boxcar Children, then The Babysitters Club and The Gold Cadillac. In middle school I read every Christopher Pike mystery I could get my hands on. And when I discovered romance novels. Let’s just say it was rare to see me without my nose in a book since the mid 90s.

My reading was a cheap habit that was supported by my parents. You see, they’d take me to this wonderful place called the flea market, or as we used to say jockey lot, where I could buy dozens of used books for no more than $5. And later, I discovered stores where I could trade in old books for new ones.

My escape, before Escape, was going to the used book store. When I recently passed my old used book store on the way to a meeting, the reading junkie in me couldn’t resist. I checked my watch, saw I had 10 minutes to spare, passed my meeting place, and went into the store. 

It was just like old times. The smell of books. The feel of the book. Looking at the covers and reading the synopsis on the backs. I was in a crunch so I quickly picked four books without much consideration. I paid less for those books than I’d recently paid for two e-books. I felt myself back slide. Could I really be so in love with e-books if I could so easily be tempted into purchasing a “real” book?

No.

You see, I’m sold on e-books. All of the reasons that I mentioned for loving them are not going away. It is easy and convenient. My kids can’t color in an e-book, and they don’t end up all over my house. The additional cost of e-books causes me to pick my reading choices more wisely. Of the four books I purchased at the used book store, only one has been good. Of my e-book purchases, I’ve been pleased with everything I decided to spend my money on. This is no fault to real books whatsoever. I completely blame it on my 10 minutes to meeting time rush.

I figure that I’ll always love “real” books, the library and book stores. I’ll always let them draw me in and take something home to entertain me between e-book purchases. Escape doesn’t mind that I cheat on her occasionally (I’m so glad our relationship is open). And I have a trip coming up. I rather fill Escape with books, than try to stuff them in my suitcase.

So tell me if you’re sold on e-books, or if you’re sticking with paper?

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

4 Responses to Cheating On E-Books With “Real” Books

  1. LOL…yeah I remember the ” I love the feel, smell, overall betterness of a real book.” Sometimes it’s ok to jump on the bandwagon.

  2. I have an e-reader and as you stated it’s no good for the impulse buyer. I’ve stuck with a rule that I’ve made for myself where I have to complete a book before purchasing another book. I do enjoy my Nook and make sure to carry it around in my purse. I love it for those long waits in the carpool lane or the doctor’s office.

    • Synithia W says:

      That never works for me because I always start a new book before finishing what I’m reading. I take mtg Nook everywhere too. You never know when you’ll need it for a quick read.

  3. Stefanie says:

    I was just like you. I thought I’d never purchase an ebook and when I did, I was like hmm this isn’t so bad. I don’t have an e-reader because the ebooks I’ve purchased were PDF’s but I plan on getting an Ipad and purchasing books for it.

Leave a Reply

