Where I Dreamed Up My Leading Man

I love a love triangle. Not in my life, but in fantasy. There’s nothing new about love triangles, but they are always fun to watch. So it’s no surprise that the main plot of my manuscript, You Can’t Plan Love, involves a love triangle. A random thought in my real life gave me the idea for my story, and Malcolm, one of the players in my triangle. The thought was simple really, there is a serious lack of black men in the environmental field. Or at least here in South Carolina were I work. No offense to the three black men I work with on air and stormwater, I started my book before meeting you three. But seriously, I only work with 3! So I took the fantasy of many women: tall, dark, and handsome and made him different. No doctor, lawyer, athlete or club owner here. Malcolm is tall, dark, handsome and cares about the environment. Now don’t get me wrong, he isn’t some tree hugging, granola eating, dreadlock wearing hippy. He’s 6’2″, dark-skinned, with a low fade, goatee and works out daily so his body is tight. He also knows how to seduce a woman. So you can see why he would pose a threat to a woman who considers herself happily engaged. But Malcolm doesn’t have an easy job ahead of him if he wants to win my heroine Kenyatta. Her fiance Brad has some good qualities, and I don’t reveal to her his secret until it’s too late. That’s right, with this love triangle I had to throw in some plot twists to keep the readers interested.

Now you know how my random thoughts turn into a full-fledged novel. I’ve been asked if Kenyatta is me (Kenyatta:Environmental Consultant; Me:Environmental Coordinator) and sorry folks it’s not. I am happily married. Even if someone as damaging to a woman’s equilibrium as Malcolm were to enter my world, I’m content with the tall, dark and handsome guy I married.

About Synithia W
I write love stories filled with passion and drama at night, I improve air and water quality during the day, and I love my husband and kids in between.

2 Responses to Where I Dreamed Up My Leading Man

  1. J. Martin says:

    Love it! Can’t wait to see it on the shelves!

  2. char says:

    You got my attention, I too can’t wait to see how this triangle will square……..

Leave a Reply

